Just Pin It

If you’re anything like me, you have a folder chock full of magazine cut-outs, celeb photos, and dream items. While some may poo-poo this technique, I mean, who actually does anything with these photos right? – it is a fantastic way to determine your personal style. Meet pinterest – for the modern day individuality seeker. Not only is it a place for you to share and discover the chicest looks, you can also create boards unrelated to fashion such as inspirational photography, dream vacation spots, and lovely home furnishings. Collectively, all these images showcase who you you are now and where you want to go.

Pinterest allows the dreamer in us to come out. While we would all love to have a wardrobe the size of Anna Wintour’s or, in my case, Blake Lively during her Gossip Girl days-my budget just can’t keep up with these ever-evolving glamazons. With no shortage of  outfits pinned, pinterest allows me to save anything I am remotely attracted to, despite having few occasions to actually wear those ball gowns I’m so fond of. When I look at these images, I can see a picture of my personal style emerge and how I want to live my life. See below

My dream wardrobe is classic and elegant, with a pop of color (aka the teal kitchen door). I also love bold accessories and a tailored fit. While not demonstrated in these pictures, I also have a love of leather (boots, bags, jackets, I have them all!). Therefore my personal style is defined as classic with a bit of an edge.

What Does Your Board Say About You?

Once you’ve spent some time creating your inspiration board, you may wonder what it all means. Sometimes it’s quite easy to spot a pattern in the madness,  other times it may be difficult to discern you’re personal style. Often a mish-mash of styles will emerge through the images which you, clever reader, can learn to combine into some seriously amazing outfits!

Examples
(via Who, What, Wear – a highly recommended read http://www.whowhatwear.com)

This book has really helped me define my own personal style. They provide examples of common inspiration board interpretations.

Bohemian Rocker: boho chic with glamourous rock and roll elements. On your board you may see beaded accessories, feathers and fringe, flowy dresses and skirts, high-waisted jeans, vintage concert tees, and metallics. For inspiration see Nicole Richie, Kate Bosworth, and Florence Welch.

Hypercolor Heroine: defined as forties classics with a hint of eighties bombshell basics. Think pencil skirts, pin-curls, patent clutches, spike heels, leopard prints, tiny hats,  fitted blazers. Scarlett Johansson, Dita Von Teese, and Zooey Deschanel work this style.

Classic Americana: timeless silhouettes with sports-inspired pieces.These boards feature ballet flats, crisp button-downs, racer-back tanks, lady-like clutches, polos, and nautical accessories. Katie Holmes, Jennifer Aniston, and Reese Whitherspoon best exemplify this style.

While I’ve given a few board examples, there are plenty of other looks to interpret! My advice to you is to simply start pinning. There’s no need to pre-plan your boards, nor feel they must to be cohesive. Each image means something to you, regardless of what it’s of.  The boards let you channel your creative energy in a risk-free environment allowing you to play and experiment with new ideas. Hey if the style-setters of the world use these (aka designers and beauty editors), shouldn’t we give it a try too?

One thought on “Just Pin It

Leave a Reply

