The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion

The past few weeks, I’ve had the opportunity to talk to the fab and caring owners of More Than Half and StylFrugal. Each woman is helping the gorgeous people of Waterloo Region be more eco in their fashion choices in different ways. You can buy clothes guaranteed to be fair trade at More Than Half or purchase/sell your quality used clothing at StylFrugal. I have always had a love affair with clothes, heck, I own more clothes than I could wear on a regular basis. And truth be told, I don’t wear many of the items I own near enough. I wanted to learn what kind of an impact my purchasing behaviours were having on the world. This is why I picked up the book Overdressed: The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion. A recommended read for those who want to learn more about the changes that have occurred in the fashion industry, what fast fashion is, the clothing production system and where those donations to the Salvation Army end up. It sure did open my eyes reader!2014-05-19 16.09.29

Some food for thought! Clothing is not of the same quality as it was in the past. People used to sew their own clothes to save money, now, it’s cheaper to buy fashion from the store than make your own garments. With decreasing clothing prices however, clothes do not last as long, as the price cuts need to come from somewhere. This means using cheaper fabrics, lowering production costs by moving things offshore and reducing the wages of clothing makers. Our attitudes towards clothing have changed though. Our wardrobes are more trend-based, we tire of our clothes quickly, and we often have multiples of a similar clothing article.

What I’m taking away from the book is to try to, when possible, make more responsible clothing choices. Bring back the fun in shopping, find deals in new ways by visiting consignment stores and even, dare I say it, Talize (yes, this is new thinking for me!). I love the hunt and getting a steal. Why not give it a go in a new place? It’s also important to maintain the clothing we have, and customize pieces to fit our style and personality. Anyone know a good tailor in Kitchener-Waterloo? Our purchasing choices do make a difference readers, so invest in yourself, the planet and your wardrobe.

Happy reading 🙂

One thought on “The Shockingly High Cost of Cheap Fashion

Leave a Reply

