Get Your Art on!

Someone once told me “all children are artists. The problem is how to remain an artist once he grows up.” This famous Pablo Picasso quote really resonates with me as I do feel growing up I’ve lost some of my creativity. Life gets busy and frankly it’s difficult to find the time to express yourself creatively. As a child I was fearless and loved arts and crafts. I would try anything and just go with it. As a young adult, I’ve lost this form of personal expression, but truly miss it. Which is why some girlfriends and I signed up for Social Art – where they help you unleash your inner Picasso, Rembrandt or Da Vinci (okay, that may be a bit of an overstatement on my part…but you get the point :)). With step-by-step instructions you manage to transform blank canvas into a lovely take-home piece.

Can I say I loved it?!

Meet Rachel.

Rachel

This lovely lady and owner of Social Art is bringing a new outlet for creative expression to Waterloo Region.  How lucky are we?!

Our adventure was held at Fionn MacCool’s where we painted this beauty.

MuskokaLove

What’s great about Social Art is that not only do you get to learn new techniques, but you can have a drink while you do it! This sure helped me get started as it was a bit intimidating, but Rachel is full of encouragement and tips. I definitely appreciated that and even found myself relaxing through the painting process.

Love how each of the paintings look different and individualized. I also love that each of us will have the “same” painting in our houses (friendship painting vs. friendship bracelet). If you’re looking to unleash a bit of creative energy, Social Art may be for you. As a girls night, a date night or just a get out of the house and have some fun night, I would highly recommended this.

group

Art, like fashion, is a form of personal expression. Don’t be afraid to paint your life the way you want it to be. Try new things and be you.

xx

 

 

5 thoughts on “Get Your Art on!

  1. Reblogged this on Rachael Rector and commented:
    Read this amazing blog post by Christina from Wear Out There about her recent experience as a participant at Social Art KW. I was so happy when I read it that I literally teared up!

    Thanks Christina for such a wonderful positive inside look at Social Art!

Leave a Reply

