Choosing a Paint Colour for Our Master Bedroom

Dear readers. It’s been a while since I’ve written on the blog consistently, and a lot has been happening in the past year.  I launched my wardrobe styling business (in-person/virtual), traveled abroad, and purchased a house with my boyfriend. Being a homeowner is new for me, as is living with another person. I hope to explore some of these changes on the blog, along with my style posts, with the hopes of learning from you. This is a big step and a big responsibility, and while I have lots to learn, it is also an exciting new adventure.

With bedroom furniture arriving on October 25th, our first task was to select a paint colour for our master bedroom. It’s currently a soft green, which is lovely but won’t work well with our duvet and furniture.

I fell in love with this gorgeous bedding from Simons, a collection created by interior designer Samantha Pynn. It’s sophisticated, neutral, and will allow us to pull in many different secondary colours. The duvet cover is a natural linen and the tassels are black, white, and grey. My boyfriend was convinced we needed to purchase a wooden bed, so after comparing prices, and looking at store after store in our community, we purchased the Quinden bedroom set from Tepperman’s. To be honest, I’m not thrilled it’s a full bedroom set we purchased. I’m not a fan of everything matching, especially in a small room. But you can’t really beat the price, especially as we got a significant discount. As a first-time homeowner, price does matter, and I will do my best, over time, to layer in some more vintage and unique pieces.

 

From the colour decks provided at Benjamin Moore, I narrowed down our room choices to two colours: Violet Mist and Abalone.

According to their website, Violet Mist is described “as fleeting as the mist hanging over a garden in the early morning hours, this sweet shade of violet has the softest grey undertone.”

violetmist

From the photos I could find on other design blogs, this colour is absolutely gorgeous. It is slightly feminine, which suits my personality. I also love how crisp the colour looks against white, but also seems to work with wood tones.

The-Decorologist-lavendar-bedroom

{Walls} Violet Mist by Benjamin Moore {Ceiling} Whisper Violet by Benjamin Moore at The Decorologist

Abalone is described as “a never-fail neutral that is an instant classic, and is as charming in a cottage as it is distinctive in a grand estate.”

abalone

When I placed this colour next to the Samantha Pynn bedding, it looked stunning. It pulled out the subtle brownish-grey undertones in the linen while complementing the overall look.  It also looks great with blues, which is a colour I hope to layer in throughout our entire main floor.

abalonedesktop

{Walls} Abalone by Benjamin Moore at The Creativity Exchange.

After going back and forth, I finally chose Abalone for our bedroom. While I haven’t painted yet (stay tuned for a photo on Instagram), after reading about the colour more, it also seems to have a subtle lavender undertone. I’m excited to give this a try, and it if doesn’t work out, at least it’s just paint. I can choose again, and learn from my mistakes.

Which colour would you have picked? Violet Mist or Abalone? Comment below.

Leave a Reply

